You asked: What is Ecuador’s capital city?

Does Ecuador have two capitals?

The capital city of Ecuador is Quito. It was formerly called the San Francisco de Quito. Quito is the second most populous city in Ecuador after Guayaquil. … Quito was declared the capital city of Ecuador on March 5, 1541.

What is the capital of Ecuador 2020?


Quito San Francisco de Quito
• Metro 4,217.95 km2 (1,628.56 sq mi)
Elevation 2,850 m (9,350 ft)
Population (2020)
• Capital city 2,011,388

What is Ecuador’s largest city?

Guayaquil, in full Santiago de Guayaquil, largest city and chief port of Ecuador. It is situated on the west bank of the Guayas River, 45 miles (72 km) upstream from the Gulf of Guayaquil of the Pacific Ocean.

What is the capital of Ecuador’s population?

The largest concentration of Ecuadorians live in the two largest cities: Guayaquil with a population of 2,350,915 and the capital city of Quito with a population of 2,239,191, according to the 2010 Census data.

Which countries have 3 capitals?

However, the only country in the world to have three capitals is South Africa. The South African Government is divided into three sections and therefore, based in three diverse capitals.

IT IS AMAZING:  What animals are commonly found in Peru?

What is Colombia capital city?

Bogotá, official Spanish Bogotá, D.C. (“Distrito Capital”), capital of Colombia. It lies in central Colombia in a fertile upland basin 8,660 feet (2,640 metres) above sea level in the Cordillera Oriental of the Northern Andes Mountains.

Is Ecuador in Peru?

Peru and Ecuador are two bordering countries in Western South America. Both countries are Andean countries, and this influence can be seen in their geography, climate, and culture as well. However, there are many differences between the two countries as well.

What kind of country is Ecuador?

The sovereign state of Ecuador is a middle-income representative democratic republic and a developing country that is highly dependent on commodities, namely petroleum and agricultural products. It is governed as a democratic presidential republic.

What is Ecuador’s capital known for?

City of Quito. Quito, the capital of Ecuador, was founded in the 16th century on the ruins of an Inca city and stands at an altitude of 2,850 m. Despite the 1917 earthquake, the city has the best-preserved, least altered historic centre in Latin America.

What is the 3 major cities in Ecuador?

By population

No. City 2010 Census
1 Guayaquil 2,278,691
2 Quito 1,607,734
3 Cuenca 329,928
4 Santo Domingo 270,875

What are Ecuador major cities?

Biggest Cities In Ecuador

  1. Guayaquil. Guayaquil, the capital of Guayas Province, is the largest and most populous city in Ecuador with a population of about 2,278,691. …
  2. Quito. Quito is the second largest and populous city with a population of about 1,607,734 and capital of Pichincha Province. …
  3. Cuenca. …
  4. Santo Domingo.
IT IS AMAZING:  Can you move to Peru?

What are 5 interesting facts about Ecuador?

Ecuador Facts: 10 Fascinating Things You Didn’t Know

  • Ecuador means “equator” in Spanish. …
  • Yasuni Park is one of the most bio-diverse places on the planet. …
  • The Galapagos Islands inspired the Theory of Evolution. …
  • Chocolate has a long history in Ecuador. …
  • Ecuador is where to find orchid flowers.

What is the area of Ecuador?

Ecuador, country of northwestern South America. Ecuador is one of the most environmentally diverse countries in the world, and it has contributed notably to the environmental sciences.

Does Ecuador have cities?

Ecuador has 2 cities with more than a million people, 14 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 66 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Ecuador is Guayaquil, with a population of 1,952,029 people.