What are the names of the different rivers found in South America?

South America has three important river basins: the Amazon, Orinoco, and Paraguay/Paraná.

What are 5 rivers in South America?

The four largest drainage systems—the Amazon, Río de la Plata (Paraguay, Paraná, and Uruguay rivers), Orinoco, and São Francisco—cover about two-thirds of the continent. By far the largest system is formed by the Amazon River, which stretches some 4,000 miles (6,400 km) across equatorial South America.

What are the 7 major rivers in South America?

The Longest Rivers in South America

  1. The Amazon River. …
  2. Parana-Rio de la Plata. …
  3. Tocantins-Araguaia. …
  4. Madeira-Mamore-Grande-Caine-Rocha. …
  5. Purus River. …
  6. Sao Francisco.

Which is the South America’s longest river?

Amazon River

Amazon River Rio Amazonas, Río Amazonas
Amazon River and its drainage basin
Native name Amazonas (Portuguese)
Country Peru, Colombia, Brazil

What are the 3 main rivers in South America?

South America has three important river basins: the Amazon, Orinoco, and Paraguay/Paraná. The Amazon River basin has an area of almost 7 million square kilometers (2.7 million square miles), making it the largest watershed in the world.

IT IS AMAZING:  Frequent question: Who designed the Guyana flag?

What are the names of rivers in North America?

Northern America

River Countries Length
Pend Oreille River US: Washington, Idaho, Canada: British Columbia 130 mi (210 km)
Kootenay River Canada: British Columbia US: Montana 480 mi (770 km)
Willamette River US: Oregon 187 mi (301 km)
Delaware River US: New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland 301 mi (484 km)

How many rivers are in Chile?

We have found 11 rivers in Chile that are significant to the sustenance of its people and country. Chile has 568 rivers in the Bio Bio region. Many of the important rivers in Chile-such as the Loa, Maipo, Aconcagua, Bio Bio, and Maule dump out in the Pacific.

How many rivers are in Peru?

Three major Peruvian rivers—the Marañón, Huallaga, and Ucayali—join the Amazon in northeastern Peru. The Río Madre de Dios flows into Bolivia and across Brazil, where its name changes to Beni and Madeira respectively before joining the Amazon near Manaus.

What are the 5 biggest lakes in South America?

The largest lakes in South America

  • 1 Lake Viedma, Argentina.
  • 2 Lake Argentino, Argentina.
  • 3 Laguna de Términos, Mexico.
  • 4 Merín Lagoon, Uruguay.
  • 5 Mar Chiquita, Argentina.
  • 6 Lake Cocibolca, Nicaragua.
  • 7 Lake Titicaca, Peru and Bolivia.
  • 8 Lake Maracaibo, Venezuela.

What river is the deepest?

But even more impressive is the canyon that the lower Congo cuts as it empties out to sea. It’s the deepest river in the world. In fact, it’s so deep that we don’t really know how deep it is. There are really two Congo Rivers.

IT IS AMAZING:  Do people in Cali Colombia speak English?

What is the shortest river in South America?

The Azuis River is a river located Aurora do Tocantins in the state of Tocantins in Brazil. With an extension of only 147 metres (482 ft), the Azuis River is considered as the shortest river in Brazil and Latin America and the third shortest river in the world, according to the Guinness World Records.

What is South America’s largest lake?

Lake Titicaca is the largest freshwater lake in South America and the highest of the world’s large lakes.

How many rivers are there in Colombia?

It has about 500 tributary rivers and more than 5,000 streams drain into it.

What are the major lakes in South America?

The Largest Lakes in South America

Rank Lake Size (square km)
1 Titicaca 8,372
2 Mar Chiquita 6,000
3 General Carrera Lake/ Lake Buenos Aires 1,850
4 Argentino Lake 1,415

Which river found in South America is the second largest in the world?

Amazon River of South America is the second longest river in the world with a length of 6,400 km. But it is by far the largest river by water flow with an average discharge greater than the next seven largest rivers combined. It flows through Brazil, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela and Guyana.