How many departments are there in Colombia?

Colombia is divided into 31 departments and a district. The governors of the departments are elected by direct suffrage.

How many departments are there in Columbia?

Departments of Colombia

Capital district and Colombian regions Distrito Capital y los Departamentos de Colombia (Spanish)
Category Unitary state
Location Republic of Colombia
Number 32 Departments 1 Capital District
Populations (Departments only):40,797 (Vaupés) – 6,407,102 (Antioquia)

What is the biggest department in Colombia?

List of Colombian Departments by population

Rank Department Population (2018)
1 Bogotá 7,412,566
2 Antioquia 6,407,102
3 Valle del Cauca 4,475,886
4 Cundinamarca 2,919,060

What is the smallest department in Colombia?

Quindío, departamento, west-central Colombia, on the western slopes of the Andean Cordillera Central. The smallest department in the nation, it is located in one of Colombia’s leading coffee-producing regions.

What are the 5 districts of Colombia?

Colombia can be divided into five traditional geographic regions: the Atlantic lowlands, the Pacific coastal region, the Andean region, the Llanos, and the Amazonian rainforest.

How many departments are there in Colombia name five of the departments?

How does the political and administrative organization work in Colombia? Colombia is organized in 1123 municipalities, 32 departments and 5 districts.

IT IS AMAZING:  Is there a road to South America?

Is Bogota a department?

Bogotá is a territorial entity of the first order, with the same administrative status as the departments of Colombia.

Department Capital District Cundinamarca (see text)
Founded 6 August 1538 (traditional)
Founded by Gonzalo Jiménez de Quesada

What is the capital of Colombia?

Bogotá, official Spanish Bogotá, D.C. (“Distrito Capital”), capital of Colombia. It lies in central Colombia in a fertile upland basin 8,660 feet (2,640 metres) above sea level in the Cordillera Oriental of the Northern Andes Mountains.

How many cities are in Colombia?

Colombia has 4 cities with more than a million people, 36 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 265 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people.

How many are in Colombia?

The current population of Colombia is 51,691,542 as of Thursday, December 30, 2021, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data. Colombia 2020 population is estimated at 50,882,891 people at mid year according to UN data. Colombia population is equivalent to 0.65% of the total world population.

Is Bogota safe?

Bogota. Bogota is actually one of South America’s safest urban areas, with a violent crime rate lower than Indianapolis. It has dozens of distinct neighborhoods, full of music, food, dance, and art. It’s also one of the world’s best places to drink coffee.

In which country is Medellin?

Medellín, city, capital of Antioquia departamento, northwestern Colombia.

Which country is Santiago de Cali?

Santiago de Cali (Spanish pronunciation: [sanˈtjaɣo ðe ˈkali]), or Cali, is the capital of the Valle del Cauca department, and the most populous city in southwest Colombia, with 2,227,642 residents according to the 2018 census.

IT IS AMAZING:  What did they trade in Latin America?

What is the official name of Colombia?

Formal Name: Republic of Colombia (República de Colombia). Short Form: Colombia.

What are the 3 major regions of Colombia?

At the heart of Colombia lies the Andean region, which is crossed by the Andes mountain range, going along the entire western part of South America and which branches out into three parts in our country: the Eastern, Central, and Western mountain ranges.