What geographical features are in Ecuador?

Ecuador is divided into four geographic regions: the coastal lowlands and mountain area; the Central Andes Mountains and its two major chains (Cordillera Occidental in the West) and the (Cordillera Oriental in the east); the lower mountains that fade into rolling hills and lowlands of the east, and the territory of the …

What geographical feature runs through Ecuador?

Relief. Ecuador straddles part of the Andes Mountains and occupies part of the Amazon basin. Situated on the Equator, from which its name derives, it borders Colombia to the north, Peru to the east and the south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west.

What are the 4 main geographic regions of Ecuador?

Ecuador is traditionally divided into four natural regions, a scheme that is followed in this Catalogue: 1) the Pacific Coastal region, in Ecuador called the Costa, which includes the lower, western slopes of the Andes below 1,000 m elevation; 2) the Andes Mountains above 1,000 m, which occupy the central portion of …

What is the geography and climate of Ecuador?

The coast and the lowlands feature a lot of jungle and enjoy a tropical climate, whereas the higher inland elevations have a cooler climate. The Andes Mountains, for instance, are decorated by white snowcaps – as are the number of volcanoes that are significant feature of the geography of Ecuador.

IT IS AMAZING:  You asked: What do kids drink Argentina?

What type of terrain is Ecuador?

Ecuador has three distinct, dramatically differentiated types of terrain throughout its continental territory: the highlands making up the Sierra, the Amazonian jungle of the Oriente, and the coastal plains that make up the Costa.

Does Ecuador have a coastline?

Finding a beach in Ecuador along its almost 2,253 kilometers of beautiful coastline is relatively easy, as most are a short drive away from the country’s major cities and airports.

What major mountains are in Ecuador?

List of mountains in Ecuador

Mountains in Ecuador
Name Elevation m Notes
Chimborazo 6,310 Ecuador’s highest mountain
Cotopaxi 5,897 Active Volcano
Cayambe 5,790 Active Volcano

How many mountains are in Ecuador?

Blending lush tropical rainforests and snow-capped mountains, Ecuador is a fantastically diverse and vibrant country located along the Equator in the northwestern part of South America. The country is home to 1,289 named mountains, the highest and most prominent of which is Chimborazo (6,268m/20,564ft).

How many rivers are there in Ecuador?

The rivers of Ecuador are an important part of the nation’s geography and economy. Most of the over 2,000 rivers and streams have headwaters in the Andes mountain range, flowing therefrom either westward toward the Pacific Ocean or eastward toward the Amazon River.

What sort of agriculture is found in Ecuador?

Even though Ecuador exports large amounts of oil, it remains an agricultural country. Near the urban areas the most common crops are corn, wheat, barley, and potatoes, while near the coastal bananas, cocoa, and coffee are grown for export.

What mountains run through Ecuador?

The Andes are the world’s longest continental mountain range, about 9,000 km in all. They lie as a continuous chain of highland along the western coast of South America, along that route, they cross through Ecuador, Peru, and Bolivia .

IT IS AMAZING:  How is Chile affected by water pollution?

What climate is Ecuador?

Because Ecuador lies on the Equator, most of the country, except the Sierra, experiences a humid tropical climate. … Most of the country, however, is humid, receiving more than 20 inches of rain a year. The southern coast and the highlands receive 30 to 80 inches (760 to 2,000 mm).

Is there a desert in Ecuador?

There are no desert regions in Ecuador.